Florida Derby 2021

Commercial Content | 21+ | T&Cs Apply

Tiz the Law won the Florida Derby 2020, earning 100 points on the Road to the Kentucky Derby. Longshot Shivaree took second place, followed by Ete Indien in third.

The Grade 1 Florida Derby is one of the prestigious prep races and is running on March 27 at Gulfstream Park.

florida derby entries

Florida Derby Betting

Since the race is one of the most prestigious races leading up to the Kentucky Derby, Florida Derby betting is highly popular. Luckily, online horse betting is available on many racebooks.

One of the most popular ways to take part in Florida Derby betting is through TVG. The platform is dedicated solely to horse racing and includes live streams for most tracks.

There are many bonuses for signing up with TVG, and the platform also offers tips and analysis from racing experts.

Besides TVG, there are other online sportsbooks that offer Florida Derby betting like Twinspires, Amwager and BetAmerica. By using platforms like these, one can bet on the top Florida Derby picks and other races across the country.

After searching around for the best Florida Derby odds, get ready for one of the most exciting races leading up to the Derby.

Types of Bets

Once a platform is chosen, and the Florida Derby entries become set, there are many different options when it comes to choosing the best Florida Derby picks. Whether it’s straight bets like the Win, Place, and Show, or exotic wagers such as the Trifecta and Superfecta, there will be plenty of winnings to be taken.

Florida Derby Winners

  • 2020 – Tiz the Law (6-5)
  • 2019 – Maximum Security (9-2)
  • 2018 – Audible (9-5)
  • 2017 – Always Dreaming (7-2)
  • 2016 – Nyquist (6-5)
  • 2015 – Materiality (7-2)

About the Florida Derby

The Florida Derby takes place at Gulfstream Park in Hallandale Beach, Fla. Since 2005, the Florida Derby has run five weeks before the Kentucky Derby, but this year’s postponement caused that to not be the case.

Each year, the Florida Derby entries include some of the best racehorses of the season.

The race was first run back in 1952, and in 1977, it was forced to be run in two divisions due to a large field.

Twenty of the Florida Derby winners have gone on to score one or more of the Triple Crown races, making it a good indicator of which horses will perform well. Trainer Todd Pletcher has won five editions of the race, and jockey John Velazques has the most wins by a jockey at five.

Where to Watch the Florida Derby Live

There are various options when it comes to watching the Florida Derby live. It will be broadcast on NBC Sports and most horse racing channels. Live streaming is available at platforms like TVG and AmWager after placing a bet.

The Road to the Kentucky Derby

As mentioned before, the Florida Derby is part of the Road to the Kentucky Derby.

The field of the Kentucky Derby is limited to 20 horses, and they have to score qualifying points in prep races to earn a spot. The Road to the Kentucky Derby normally consists of 35 races.

In the Florida Derby, the points are awarded on a scale of 100-40-20-10.

Various Florida Derby winners have gone on to win the Kentucky Derby, including Orb in 2013, Nyquist in 2016, and Always Dreaming in 2017.