Preakness Results 2020

Commercial Content | 21+ | T&Cs Apply

Swiss Skydiver wins the Preakness Stakes 2020! The Kentucky Oaks runner-up beat the Derby winner and favorite Authentic in a photo finish at the Pimlico Racetrack. This is only the sixth time a filly wins this race.

The Preakness is usually the 2nd race of the Triple Crown. However, it is the last of the three races this year. This year’s Preakness Stakes is set for Saturday, October 3rd.

It will still be the standard length, going the distance of 1 3/16th of a mile. The Preakness Stakes is run at Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore, Maryland.

Coverage will begin on NBA at 5pm, with post time begin set shortly after that. The Preakness results will be known by 7pm ET after the race.

preakness results 2019
Tyler Gaffalione in 2019. Photo credit: MDGovpics on Visual hunt / CC BY

Preakness 2020 Order of Finish

Here is the full order of finish for the Preakness Stakes 2020:

  1. Swiss Skydiver
  2. Authentic
  3. Jesus’ Team
  4. Art Collector
  5. Max Player
  6. Excession
  7. Mr. Big News
  8. Thousand Words
  9. Ny Traffic
  10. Pneumatic
  11. LiveYourBeastLife

Preakness Payouts 2020

Here are the 2020 Preakness Stakes payouts:

Swiss Skydiver$25.40$8.40$5.80
  • $2 Exacta for Swiss Skydiver and Authentic paid $75.60
  • $0.50 Trifecta paid $602.85
  • $1 Superfecta (with Art Collector) paid $5,053.

Previous Preakness Winners

War of Will is who won the Preakness is 2019. Coming out of the number one post, this horse was able to ride the rail and navigate the field to cross the finish line first. This race was run in front of 131,256 people at Pimlico Race Course.

Tyler Gaffalione was able to lead War of Will to victory in the 13-horse field, which was the largest at the Preakness since 2011. As one of the Preakness winning jockeys, this will forever be one of the best wins in his career.

2019 was the 144th running of the Preakness Stakes, and it was the added trainer Mark Casse to Preakness winners list. The owner of War of Will was Gary Barber.

As the winner of the Kentucky Derby, Country House was the only horse that could go for the Triple Crown in the 2019 Preakness. However, the horse did not participate in this race.

As the Preakness winner, the connections of the horse are rewarded with a Woodlawn Vase designed by Tiffany and Company.

Other than 2019, here is the Preakness winners list since 2010.

  • 2018 – Justify
  • 2017 – Cloud Computing
  • 2016 – Exaggerator
  • 2015 – American Pharaoh
  • 2014 – California Chrome
  • 2013 – Oxbow
  • 2012 – I’ll Have Another
  • 2011 – Shackleford
  • 2010 – Looking at Lucky

Preakness 2019 Results

Who won the Preakness in 2019? Here are the Preakness results listed as the horse, jockey, trainer. The Preakness payouts are also listed for the top five horses.

  1. War of Will; Tyler Gaffalione; Mark E. Casse ($900,000)
  2. Everfast; Joel Rosario; Dale Romans ($300,000)
  3. Owendale; Florent Geroux; Brad Cox ($165,000)
  4. Warrior’s Charge; Javier Castellano; Brad Cox ($90,000)
  5. Laughing Fox; Ricardo Santana Jr.; Steve Asmussen ($45,000)
  6. Improbable; Mike Smith.; Bob Baffert
  7. Win Win Win; Julian Pimentel; Michael J. Trombetta
  8. Bourbon War; Irad Ortiz, Jr.; Mark Hennig
  9. Signalman; Brian Hernandez Jr.; Ken McPeek
  10. Anothertwistafate; Jose Ortiz; Blaine Wright
  11. Alwaysmining; Daniel Centeno; Kelly Rubley
  12. Market King; Jon Court; D. Wayne Lukas
  13. Bodexpress; John Velazquez; Gustavo Delgado

Preakness Payouts

Here are the 2019 Preakness payouts.

  • War of Will ($14.20, $7.40, $5.40)
  • Everfast (N/A, $32.00, $14.40)
  • Owendale (N/A, N/A, $6.00)
  • Exacta (1-10): $947.00
  • Trifecta (1-10-5): $4,699.80
  • Superfecta (1-10-5-3): $51,924.00

Preakness Stakes online betting is always popular for this Triple Crown race. Entering the race, the Preakness odds will determine the payouts for betting.

Preakness Record and Hall of Fame

The Preakness Stakes had its first edition in 1873 at Pimlico Race Course. It has become one of the most well-known horse races, being one of the legs of the Triple Crown. It is also known as the “Run for the Black-Eyed Susans.”

Some of the most famous jockeys, owners, and trainers make their way to this race every year. The Preakness Stakes horses are the best thoroughbreds in horse racing.

Who most people believe as the greatest race horse of all time, Secretariat, owns the fastest finish at the Preakness. He finished it in 1:53.00, as the Preakness results were revisited by upgraded timing technology in 2012 and determined this as the Preakness record.

Secretariat is possibly the most infamous Preakness winner of all-time. But even though Secretariat had the fastest time, Smarty Jones won by the largest margin of victory. He crossed the finish line 11 ½ lengths in front of the next closest competitor.

The most wins by a jockey in the Preakness Stakes goes to Eddie Arcaro. He had wins in 1941, 1948, 1950, 1951, 1955, and 1957. Preakness winning jockeys are some of the most successful and highly paid jockeys in the business.

Most wins by a trainer are tied between Bob Baffert and R. Wyndham Walden. Baffert has made wins in 1997, 1998, 2001, 2002, 2010, 2015, and 2018. Walden won in 1875, 1878, 1879, 1880, 1881, 1882, and 1888.

Calumet farms has the Preakness record for an owner, capturing the race in 1941, 1944, 1947, 1948, 1956, 1958, 1968, and 2013. They are no stranger to owning and breeding horses who finish high in the Preakness results.

Triple Crown Winners

Every Triple Crown winner had to win the second leg in the Preakness. Here are all of the winners of the Triple Crown.

  • 1919 Sir Barton
  • 1930 Gallant Fox
  • 1935 Omaha
  • 1937 War Admiral
  • 1941 Whirlaway
  • 1943 Count Fleet
  • 1946 Assault
  • 1948 Citation
  • 1973 Secretariat
  • 1977 Seattle Slew
  • 1978 Affirmed
  • 2015 American Pharoah
  • 2018 Justify

In order to win the Triple Crown, these horses have to finish first in the Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes, and Belmont Stakes. This list of race horses captured the most prestigious honor in all of the horse racing by winning these three races.

Other than these Triple Crown winners, another 23 winners of the Kentucky Derby won the Preakness. But they failed to win the Belmont to win the Triple Crown.

No filly has ever won the Triple Crown. There have been three fillies who have won the Kentucky Derby and five have won the Preakness. The latest filly to win the Preakness was Rachael Alexandra in 2019.

Usually, the Triple Crown is always at stake in the Preakness. Being run right after the Kentucky Derby, the horse who won that race is contending for the Triple Crown

In 2019, the Preakness results will have no effect on the Triple Crown. With the Belmont Stakes and Kentucky Derby already done, there were two different winners of these races.

Tiz the Law won the Belmont Stakes, which was the first of the Triple Crown to run in 2020. He entered the Kentucky Derby as the favorite. However, trainer Bob Baffert’s horse, Authentic, won the 2020 Kentucky Derby.

Even though there is no Triple Crown at stake, the Preakness Stakes will still be competitive.