Preakness Stakes 2020

The Preakness Stakes is held at Pimlico Race Course in Maryland. This Triple Crown race is usually held two weeks after the Kentucky Derby but will be held on October 3rd this year.

Live television coverage for the event will begin at 5 pm ET on NBC. With two different winners in the Kentucky Derby and Belmont Stakes, no one is in contention for the Triple Crown.

Be sure to check out the Preakness Stakes Online Betting Guide and the list of Preakness Stakes Horses. Here you will learn how to bet on the race, as well as the horses that will be competing in the Preakness Stakes 2020.

Horse racing and wagering go hand-in-hand. In these sections, you can find general information and fun facts about betting on the Preakness Stakes.

Preakness Stakes History

The Preakness Stakes is a G1 race and will be run for the 145th time this year. The winner of this race will be presented with the infamous Woodlawn Vase created by Tiffany and Company in 1860.

The race is 1-3/16th of a mile, putting it just short of the distance of the Kentucky Derby. Traditionally, this is the shortest of all of the Triple Crown races.

The Kentucky Derby always enters this race for a chance for the Triple Crown. The most celebrated horses in Preakness history went on to win the Triple Crown after this race.

The race initially began in Gravesend, New York, at all different times of the year. It occurred before the Kentucky Derby on 11 occasions, and twice on the same day. But now it has cemented its traditional time two weeks after the Kentucky Derby.

It is a Preakness history tradition for a painter to add the colors of the winning teams’ silks to the cupola’s jockey-and-horse weather vane. The winning horse is also draped with a blanket of black-eyed Susans, which is Maryland’s state flower.

As the Kentucky Derby is sometimes referred to as “The Run for the Roses,” the Preakness Stakes is often called “The Run for the Black-Eyed Susans.”

The race is named after the first horse to ever win the race in 1873.

Last year, the heavy favorite didn’t scratch into the top three. The horse coming out of the first post, War of Will, rode the rail and came in from the inside to win the race.

preakness stakes horses


By Horse Betting Professional

Preakness stakes online betting


By Horse Betting Professional

preakness odds


By Horse Betting Professional

Preakness Race Course

Pimlico Race Course is the second oldest race track in the country, just behind Saratoga. It made its debut in 1870 and is now home to the historic Preakness Stakes.

“Pimlico” was the name given to the area in Maryland by the English settlers. Many refer to this track as “Old Hilltop” because of the small area risen in the infield. This spot was popular for trainers and jockeys to take a look at the horses before the race. However, this hill was removed from the track in 1938.

Oden Bowie was the governor of Maryland when he suggested the idea of building a racecourse. The Maryland jockey club purchased the 70 acres of land for $23,500 and built the track for $25,000.

In the rich Preakness history, the track has seen the likes of Man o’War, Secretariat, War Admiral, Seabiscuit, and many more.

These horses are legends in the sport, and that includes at Pimlico Race Course. This track played a large part of their legacy.

Preakness Stakes Records

The Preakness Horse Race has been several different lengths but changed to the 1-3/16th of a mile it is today in 1925.

The Maryland Racing Commission used a timing technology to determine Secretariat’s time in the 1973 race. He completed the race the fastest that any horse ever has, crossing the finish line at 1:53. Secretariat owns the record for all three of the Triple Crown races.

Eddie Arcaro owns the most wins in this race as a jockey. He won the Preakness six times, including 1941, 1948, 1950, 1951, 1955, and 1957. He was aboard both Whirlaway and Citation for their Triple Crown victories.

R. Wyndham Walden and Bob Baffert are tied for the most wins by a trainer. Walden won in 1875, 1878, 1879, 1880, 1881, 1882, and 1888 while Baffert won in 1997, 1998, 2001, 2002, 2010, 2015, and 2018.

Baffert was the trainer for the last Triple Crown and horse of the year winner, Justify. He was the last horse to win the three legs back in 2018.

Calumet Farm has the most wins by an owner, capturing seven wins.

Triple Crown 2020

The other two legs of the Triple Crown have already been run. The Belmont Stakes was first, which happened on June 20th. The distance was shortened from the normal 1 ½ mile to 1 1/8th mile.

This race is held in Belmont Park in New York. Tiz the Law was the favorite coming in with 4/5 odds. With Manny Franco aboard, Tiz the Law won the race.

Then, Tiz the Law entered the Kentucky Derby looking for the second leg of the Triple Crown. However, Authentic was the horse that captured the run for the roses. He did so by holding off a late push by Tiz the Law, who finished second.

Authentic’s trainer, Bob Baffert, was able to win his sixth Kentucky Derby. That ties him for the most Kentucky Derby wins of all-time by a trainer.

Therefore, there is no Triple Crown at stake in the Preakness, but it is still a prestigious race. Jockeys and trainers still strive to win even one of these Triple Crown events. The purse for the Preakness Stakes is $1.5 million.

Even without the Triple Crown on the line, the Preakness Stakes 2020 is set to be an entertaining betting event.

triple crown betting guide


By Horse Betting Professional


Find out more about the Preakness Stakes 2020 in the FAQ section below.

When is the Preakness Stakes 2020 horse race?

The Preakness Stakes will be held on Saturday, October 3rd.

Where is the Preakness Stakes held?

The Preakness Horse Race is held at Pimlico Race Course, located in Baltimore, Maryland.

How long is the Preakness Stakes?

The Preakness Stakes has been 1-3/16th of a mile long since 1926

What time does the Preakness Start?

Television coverage from Pimlico will begin around 5 pm ET. Post time for the Preakness Stakes is set for 6:45 pm ET.